Deacon” is a Syrian word that means servant. In Greek, it is “Diakon”. The deacon’s main job is to help the priest or bishop in his religious service. The first church appointed seven deacons, who were filled with the Holy Spirit and wisdom, “Then the twelve summoned the multitude of the disciples and said… therefore brethren, seek out from among you seven men of good reputation, full of the Holy Spirit and wisdom, whom we may appoint over this business.”(Acts 6:2-3).” whom they set before the apostles, and when they had prayed, they laid hands on them.” (Acts 6:6) Our teacher St. Paul listed some qualifications for the deacon in his first epistle to his disciple Timothy, chapter 3: Likewise, deacons must be:

  • reverent
  • not double-tongued
  • not given to much wine
  • not greedy for money
  • holding the mystery of the faith with a pure conscience
  • ruling their children and their own houses well
  • they should be tested first, and then, if they pass the test, they are to serve.

Being a deacon is the first and least rank in the priesthood ranks, St. Paul praises it saying, “For those who have served well as deacons obtain for themselves a good standing and great boldness in the faith which is in Christ Jesus.” (1 Tim 3:13)

There are 5 ranks of deacons:

    1. Chanter (Epsaltos)
    2. Reader (Anagnostes)
    3. Subdeacon (Epi-diakon)
    4. Deacon (Diakon)
    5. Archdeacon